The Ashes: Steve Smith wins McGilvray Medal for Australia’s Test cricketer of the year for fourth time

Australian captain Steve Smith has capped another dominant year by winning the McGilvray Medal for the fourth time in a row. –  MelbourneTv

Smith won the award, recognising the most valuable Australia Test player over a calendar year and voted by the ABC Grandstand commentary team, after continuing his supreme form as Australia’s skipper.

In 2017, Smith became the 11th cricketer to score 1,000 Test runs in a calendar year, accumulating 1,305 runs at an average of 76.8, with five centuries and a double century — his top score was 239 against England in Perth.

Smith has continued his form into the early days of 2018. On day two of the fifth Ashes Test, he notched up another milestone, reaching 6,000 Test runs in 111 innings — the second-fastest in history behind Sir Donald Bradman (68 innings).

The win makes Smith the first cricketer to win the award four times, going past former Australian captain Michael Clarke, who won in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

The award is named in honour of former cricketer and legendary ABC broadcaster Alan McGilvray, who called cricket for over 50 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest